Savannah-Chatham County Public School System

Board of Education Police Department Recognizes Promotions. Partners and Leaders

Published on: 4/3/2023

The Board of Education Police Department held its annual Employee Recognition and Promotion Ceremony Friday, March 31 at the Woodville-Tompkins High School Auditorium. 
Fifteen officers received promotions and were pinned with new badges by family and friends.  The promoted officers are Deputy Chief Robert Rodriguez,  Lieutenant Justin Pratt,  Sergeant First Class Carl Quarterman,  Sergeant First Class Kevin Elleby, Sergeant (Detective) Calvin Bell,  Sergeant (Detective) Jamie Spain,  Sergeant Lisa Darby, Sergeant John Cutter, Sergeant Pijit Healy, Sergeant Michael Hollis, Sergeant Andre Jenkins, Sergeant Patrick Johnson,  Sergeant Dori Sessoms, Sergeant Jessica Mervin and Sergeant Michael Wilson.
In addition, chief Terry Enoch swore in Officer T.J. Wilder. 
Lisa Maxwell was recognized as Crossing Guard of the Year.  The civilian of the year was Ms. Valerie Chisholm, the custodian for the BOE PD.  SSO Robert Evens was named School Safety Officer of the year and Officer Tracy Braun was named School Resource Officer of the year.  Supervisor of the year was Sg. Calvin Bell.
Dr. Ann Levett and Dr. Joe Buck were both awarded the Larry Lower Leadership Award.  This award – formerly the Chief’s Award – was renamed this year for Mr. Lower, who died in 2022.  A former police chief as well as a board member, Mr. Lower was a staunch supporter of the BOEPD.  His leadership was a model for those who follow in his footsteps.  In awarding the honor to both Dr. Levett and Dr. Buck, Chief Enoch said “I can’t think of any two people who carry the mantle of leadership as Larry Lower did than Dr. Levett and Dr. Buck.  Both have served this district tirelessly and there is no higher honor, in my humble opinion, that to share Mr. Lower’s leadership ideals.” 
Several officers were honored for their years of service.
5-year service pins 
Sgt Calvin Bell 
Ofc Arthur Bryant 
Ofc Bilaal Muhammad 
Sfc Carl Quarterman 
Ofc Isaac Scott
Ofc Gordon Teems
Ofc James Williams 
10-year pin 
Sgt Andre Jenkins 
15-year pins 
Sgt John Cutter 
Sgt Jamie Spain 
Sgt Michael Wilson 
20-year pins 
Lt Delvin Guilford 
Lt Aundrea Leon 
Sgt Lisa Darby 
Ofc Brenda Johnson 
Sgt Dori Sessoms 
Finally, these officers received their SRO pins.
Lt Robert Ede​nfield
Ofc Kenneth Brewer 
Ofc Danielle Drinkard 
Ofc Melissa Forbes 
Ofc Edward Gray 
Ofc Daphne Heisser-Nelson 
Ofc Tatyana Jackson 
Ofc Barbara O’Neal 
Ofc Angel Sleeman 
Ofc Leroy Smalls
Ofc Georgette Smith 
Ofc Andrew Staley 
Ofc Steven Wilson 
Ofc Timothy Wood 
After the ceremony, the officers and their families were treated to a fabulous meal prepared by the culinary students at Woodville-Tompkins. 
See all the photos from the event 

The Savannah-Chatham County Public School System is committed to ensuring that digital content on its websites is accessible to persons with disabilities. If you or someone you know experiences an accessibility challenge on any of our web pages or digital content, please notify us by calling (912) 395-5538 or emailing

SCCPSS Privacy Statement