Savannah-Chatham County Public School System

SCCPSS Names Five Finalists for 2020 Teacher of the Year

Published on: 10/26/2018

​​On Thursday, October 25, 2018, in a reception hosted by the Savannah Morning News, teachers were on hand to represent their school in the 2020 Teacher of the Year program. This year’s applications were reviewed by a panel of school district personnel and community members who had the difficult task of narrowing down the top finalists.

During the reception the top five finalists were announced by the current Teacher of the Year, Ms. Kiwonda Riley of Mercer Middle School. Each will now move to district level competition to participate in a month long judging process that includes classroom observations and panel interviews. The finalists include: Ms. Alicia Beck of the STEM Academy at Bartlett, Ms. Jennifer Carter of Windsor Forest High School, Ms. Lydia Hall of White Bluff Elementary School, Mr. Joseph Johnson of Brock Elementary School and Ms. Kathy Whitney of Garrison School for the Arts.

One of these individuals will be named the 2020 District Teacher of the Year and participate in state-level competition. The full list of the 2020 Teacher of the Year representatives includes:

Beverly Lawton - Beach High School
Lashonda Garvin - Bloomingdale Elementary School
Joseph Johnson - Brock Elementary School
Carleen Odom - Building Bridges Middle
Mary Paradise - Building Bridges High 
Chantelle Cross - Butler Elementary School
Lisa Franklin - Coastal Georgia Comprehensive Academy
Jan Harrison - Coastal Middle School
Ralph Brown - DeRenne Middle School
Inez Bennett - East Broad K8 School
Trent Kissinger - Charles Ellis Montessori Academy
Africa Hicks - Gadsden Elementary School
LaDetra Parker - Garden City Elementary School
Kathy Whitney - Garrison School for the Arts
Tiffany McGarity - Georgetown K8 School
Michelle Lanier - Godley Station K8 School
Shelley Chaplin - Gould Elementary School
Robin Holmes - Groves High School
Allynson Petty - Haven Elementary School
Carly Coghill - Heard Elementary School
Brenna Baluh - Hesse K8 School
Kelly Layson - Hodge Elementary School
Dana Walters - Howard Elementary School
Shirmira Hill - Hubert Middle School
Amy Jesse - Islands High School
Jessica Fowler - Isle of Hope K8 School
Charlotte Giddens - J.G. Smith Elementary School
Ruby Hall - Jenkins High School
Yvonne Gray - Johnson High School
Kayla Cook - Largo-Tibet Elementary School
Annette Bellamy - School of Humanities at Juliette Gordon Low Elementary
Laura Reinke - Marshpoint Elementary School
Lucinda Dunbar - Mercer Middle School
Priscilla Sawyer - Myers Middle School
Patrick O'Conner - New Hampstead High School
Jennifer Williams - Oglethorpe Charter School
Carol Stanford - Pooler Elementary School
Burton Morris - Port Wentworth Elementary School
Kenya Smith - Pulaski Elementary School
Danyel Hall - Rice Creek School
Barbara Lacey - Savannah Arts Academy
Mary Negley - Savannah Classical Academy
Janet McCray - Savannah Early College High School
Chaquasha Tomlin - School of Liberal Studies at Savannah High
Stephanie Murphy - Shuman Elementary School
Emma Ruby - Southwest Elementary School
Aimee Yarber - Southwest Middle School
Alicia Beck - STEM Academy at Bartlett
Noel Ingram - Tybee Maritime Academy
Susan Stevenson - West Chatham Elementary School
Schona Dortch - West Chatham Middle School
Lydia Hall - White Bluff Elementary School
Nathaniel Ball - A.B. Williams Elementary School
Dionne Renee - Windsor Forest Elementary School
Jennifer Carter - Windsor Forest High School
Kathryn Ryan - Woodville Tompkins High School

Check out pictures from the event here​​. Congratulations to all!

The Savannah-Chatham County Public School System is committed to ensuring that digital content on its websites is accessible to persons with disabilities. If you or someone you know experiences an accessibility challenge on any of our web pages or digital content, please notify us by calling (912) 395-5538 or emailing

SCCPSS Privacy Statement